Logo Utrecht University

Blackboard Support

Course building and management

Cleanup of course environments in Blackboard

Clean up old courses in Blackboard

There are many old course environments present in Blackboard, because no course environments have been removed until now. As a result, many old courses are still available in Blackboard. Below is explained what we will do in the coming period.

Delete courses

The courses for the 2012-2013 academic year will be removed at the beginning of November. Courses from previous academic years will also be deleted.

Teachers can download the educational material from the courses to be deleted up to and including August 2019.

Archiving courses

All courses in Blackboard up to and including the 2013-2014 academic year will be archived in September. Archiving means that no more material can be taken from the course. We do this in preparation for removal in the following year.

Courses policy

The intention is to perform a cleanup action each year. The actual retention periods have yet to be determined. For now, the courses from the past six years will remain in Blackboard.

The courses from the academic years 2014-2015 up to and including 2018-2019 remain unchanged and available and the courses from the 2013-2014 academic year will be archived in preparation for next year.

Communities

The cleaning only applies to course environments and not to communities / organizations.

Course Copy

It is possible to copy the content of a course to the new course in Blackboard every year. On the support site there is an instruction for this: https://blackboard-support.uu.nl/en/handleidingen/copy-content/

Questions or more information

For questions about cleaning you can contact the key user (s) of your faculty. A schedule can also be requested from the key user or can be found on the Blackboard Support site, https://blackboard-support.uu.nl/en/ (see contact key users).

Schedule: