Adaptive Release enables you to restrict assignments only to students that are members of certain coursegroups. This is realized via a rule in the section ‘Membership’. If you’ll need to change these coursegroups afterwards, this can surely be done. When you try to remove coursegroups however, it seems to be impossible to delete the last one.
There is a way to delete the last coursegroup in the rule nevertheless. With the use of Adaptive Release Advanced, the rules that are created by Adaptive Release are split into functional parts (criteria). Chose Edit Criteria and edit the criterion named ‘Membership’. Delete the respective coursegroup and submit. Now you will see that the coursegroup finally disappeared.
If you are deleting an assignment for the first time, the Edge browser brings up a question: “The website mentions: the action is final and cannot be undone, delete this item?”. Clicking OK will correctly delete the respective assignment.
If afterwards you will delete another assignment, the question that is associated slightly differs and adds the possibility to click: “Do not allow this page to make more messages”. Beware: if you choose for this option, than afterwards assignments cannot be deleted anymore, you will not receive any message of it and you will have to restart the Edge browser to be allowed again.
Technically it is possible to manually delete enrolled students from a course, but we strongly advise to follow the procedure below!
When students are directly deleted from a blackboard course all information and documentation (like assignments, results, grading, etc.) is lost. Moreover this account will be enrolled again after the next automatic synchronization with OSIRIS which daily occurs twice. The correct way to remove a student from a Blackboard course is to unenroll the student from within OSIRIS.
Note: after removing an enrollment via Osiris, the provisioning script will provoke a disablement of the enrollment in Blackboard (the course enrollment of the student cannot be seen by the student, nor by other students or by the instructor). Because of this disablement, the assignments and other contributions of the student will still continue to exist. Reestablishing the enrollment can only be done through Osiris.
Students can arrange enrollments for courses and minors via students.uu.nl/en/contact/faculty-student-desks.
It is not possible to enroll students in a blackboard course. Enrollments to Blackboard courses are done automaticly by the enrollment of students within OSIRIS.
In emergency cases students can be enrolled in a blackboard course. Only use this possibility in case something went wrong with enrolling and the student needs direct access to the course. Of course the student still needs to be enrolled in the OSIRIS course!
A ‘Message’ is a message which can only be read within a blackboard course or community. A student has to open the specific course and open the message tool to read it. This communication mode is not heavily used in the UU.
Mail will be send to the regular mailbox of the @students.uu.nl e-mail account. It is not possible to forward a ‘messages’ to an e-mail account.
When a course is available but can’t be found in the ‘My Courses’ list of the student, the student may not be enlisted in Osiris for this course. This can be confirmed by the Faculty Student Desk. When the Osiris information is confirmed to be okay and more than one day passed since the registration, the student can contact the faculty manager. The contact information can be found at ‘Contact Faculty Helpdesk’.
If a student has been enrolled in a course in Osiris and the course is set to ‘Available’ (See: How do I make my course available?), this student will be included in the copy process that hands over student account data from Osiris to Blackboard and makes their enrollment available in the respective course in Blackboard.
This provisioning process from Osiris to Blackboard runs twice a day, once in the morning and once in the evening, including the weekend. Most of the time, a student will see the enrollment in the Blackboard-course a day after the enrollment of the Osiris-course took place. There are exceptions however, the procedure is different e.g. for the matching student.
The course is probably still unavailable, see Hoe maak ik mijn cursus beschikbaar/available?
Another possibility is, that the course is made ‘Date-Restricted’, and that the current moment is different from the available moments of the announcement.
The creation of courses and the enrollment of the correct people is a fully automated process, originated from the databases of Osiris. This process ensures that for each course in Osiris (except when explicitly stated), a course in Blackboard will be created and that for all students enrolled in the Osiris-course as ‘Student’, Blackboard creates a student for the respective course. All teachers and coordinators registered in Osiris as an “Instructor”, will be enrolled as “Instructor” in the Blackboard equivalent course.
If something is wrong with the course or enrollment, you may undertake several steps:
This depends on a setting of the discussionboard. ”Allow file attachments” needs to be set within the settings of the specific discussion board. At creating a general discussion board it is allowed per default. At creating a group-discussionboard the setting is default off. Changing this settings can be done as follows:
Yes, this is possible. teachers with the role “instructor” can always add other teachers and give different roles to this teacher.
Every teacher with a Solis-id for Utrecht University can be enrolled in a course following the steps mentioned above.
Beware: Osiris is the base for the setup of the course in Blackboard! Unlike with students, Instructors will be retained in the course, also when they’re not available in the Osiris-course. We strongly advise to create the enrollments from within osiris.
Teachers who do not have a Solis-id can be enrolled as a guest teacher to a course..
A request to create a guest account can be submitted at the blackboard administrator of the faculty. The administrator will enroll the guest account in the desired course. The E-mailadresses of the responsible blackboard administrator can be found in blackboard under ‘Support’.
A discussionboard is an instrument of communication that can be used by all members of a course, or can be allocated to coursegroup members only.
Firstly, the coursegroups have to be made. After that, you will checkmark the discussionboard as an attribute to the course.
How do you restrict access to only a specific group?
If your course both has a full-time and part-time version, this will not be clearly visible in ‘My Courses’ because there you will see the same course name. This problem can be solved by having the BB course_id also shown: this ID will show a V or a D.
This can be done by clicking on the ‘cog’ button in the upper right corner. Here you can specify per course if you also want to show the BB course_id.
The image below shows the resulting BB course_id and the cogwheel:
Below the needed checkmarks:
The function “Discussion Board” is most used when you want students to discuss with each other, for example due to a college or workgroup. Within the manual Discussion Board, an explanation is given of how discussion boards can be created. If you want students to discuss in groups, it is wise to first define the group and then to create the discussion board(s).
If you created groups, students are able to exchange files from within a discussion board without a notification. If you want to allow this to students, you’ll activate the tool ‘File Exchange’. This tool is available exclusively in groups! It is important to clearly explain the purpose of the tools to the students, so that they will use them properly. E.g. it is better to use File Exchange to only exchange files, and not the Discussion Board.
For more information on working with groups and creating discussion boards a seperate manual is available.
Java is less and less supported by browsers. Blackboard supports this development and reprogrammed Java-based functionality to HTML 5 code. Since the last update, Blackboard removed the Collaborate tools, which included the Chat and Virtual Classroom. These tools were reliant upon Java to function. The Collaboration tools were rarely used within the UU. The Multiple File Upload cannot be used anymore, which was also a Java based functionality.
In the Control Panel go to” Customization ‘and’ Properties’ and then at ‘Set Availability’ choose ‘Yes’ (circled in red below). Now this course will be available to students enrolled in the course. As long as the course is not made available for those students it will not appear in the “My Courses list on the” My Blackboard’ tab.